Downtown St Marys Rainbow

St. Marys set to open its doors on September 28

Contact Us

Doors Open St. Marys is coming back, giving residents and visitors a unique opportunity to explore 15 of the most beautiful, intriguing, architecturally significant properties in St. Marys. The biennial event takes place Saturday, September 28 from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

The 15 sites include churches, private residents, municipal buildings and the train station, with highlights including:

Bus Tours: Knowledgeable guides will highlight the history, people and architecture that makes St. Marys so special. Sign up at the Information Tent in front of Town Hall. Tours leave from Town Hall at 11:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.   

Grand Trunk Trail: CLICKS BY CLICKS is a photography gallery by members of the St. Marys Clicks Photography Club. Members will have their favorite photographs on display for you to enjoy as you stroll down the Grand Trunk Trail. With the beautiful view of St. Marys from the trestle as the backdrop, this will be an exhibit like no other!

Presbyterian Church: The Presbyterian Church will be hosting flower arrangements throughout the sanctuary based on Genesis 1:11-12: “Then God said, Let the earth put forth vegetation: plants yielding seed, and fruit trees of every kind on earth that bear fruit with the seed in it.” Members of the Horticultural Society and members of the congregation will have arrangements on display and visitors can vote for their favourite.

Central School Manor: St. Marys Central School was the largest stone structure in town at one time. It remains important as the last example of institutional (even domestic) stone construction in St. Marys. Closed in 2010, the school has been sympathetically converted to luxury condominiums. During Doors Open, four apartments will be available for touring, as well as common areas.

Waterworks Building: The Waterworks Building was built in 1899, when a municipal water system was installed in St. Marys. During Doors Open, the Town of St. Marys and the Ontario Clean Water Agency will be leading tours of the site, including the new reservoir facility. The Upper Thames River Conservation Authority will also be presenting information related to drinking water source protection.


Heritage Conservation District: The combination of limestone buildings constructed from locally quarried stone, a scenic location in the river valley, a physically intact downtown, and the large number of well-preserved historical buildings all combine to give St. Marys a distinct feel and charm. Come and explore the architecture, vibrant shops and scenic vistas located in St. Marys’ heritage conservation district.

Thames Vista Farm: First known as Thorn Hill Place, this spacious, white Ontario brick farmhouse was built around 1870 for Patrick Whelihan, Registrar of Perth South. Now known as Thames Vista Farm, the hillside location overlooks the valley of the farm property, the Thames River and the Grand Trunk Trestle. Original interior features include marble fireplaces, decorative mouldings and large windows.

St. James Anglican Church: The St. James Anglican Church Women are offering boxed lunches in the Parish Hall by donation from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Enjoy the lunches in the Parish Hall or take them outdoors for a picnic.

Visit and click on St. Marys for full details.

- 30 -


Trisha McKibbin | Director of Corporate Services
Phone: 519-284-2340 x. 241 | Email: